Brush Embroidery

Image

Does anyone know the American TV show called Cake Boss? Or maybe The Next Great Baker? Buddy Valastro is the “BOSS” -he is a hell of a baker and cake decorator, I really like his shows, and guess what: we watched it together with Szonja on my computer, because she loves it too 🙂  On one of the series Buddy made a special cake for his wife, and he used a decorating technique called brush embroidery, which means that you paint with butter-cream (it might work with royal icing, but I could be wrong here) on the fondant with a paint brush. It was the first time I saw this and I instantly knew I have to try it myself! And that’s what I did! Last week I put aside few cupcakes (from the wild roses batch), and frosted them with pale green sugar-paste, let them dry a little, then painted it with butter-cream. It was easy-peasy, fun and elegant 🙂 Now I’m feeling that I’d like to decorate a big cake with this technique!

Image

Leave a comment