Christmas Sugar Cookies – Name Tag Cookies

I had to repost this, as there was a problem with my initial Christmas Cookies post…

Image

When you live with a 6 year old girl in the house -who by the way loves everything PINK, you don’t realize that slowly but definitely pink will start spreading all over the place…Yep, that’s what happens if you are not aware. Needles to say it happened with us too, and everywhere you look, there is something pink. Is it a coincidence that this year the main Christmas Look is also pink in our house? Noooo….there you go, that’s how I made pink/blue/silver Christmas Cookies, and not red, which is a classical Christmas colour.

The recipe to bake these cookies I found at www.KarensCookies.net

 

She made a list of her favourite sugar cookies, and I chose this one, called White Chocolate Sugar Cookies. Have no idea how the other cookie recipes work , but this one is pretty good and I am happy with my choice. It is delicious, easy to make, and they don’t brake, yet they are light and nice! I don’t have a history of making sugar cookies, in fact this is my second attempt of all. I did decorate biscuits before, but this time I really wanted cookies made from scratch. Originally I planed to decorate them with Royal Icing, but since I am not using Royal Icing a lot, I don’t have a routine using it, and definitely didn’t have the time to start experimenting now. So, I went for the easy way, which for me is working with fondant.

Image

 

I had some Tiffany Parcel Blue fondant (sounds posh, doesn’t it?) and I was happy to use it, although I found the blue a little to dark in the end. I think the cookies would have looked more airy, more subtle with lighter blue, and I guess I could have mix the blue fondant with white to lighten the colour, but at 3 am in the morning I just couldn’t find the motivation. So Tiffany Parcel Blue it is!

Image

 

The names on the name tag cookies are my family 🙂 I attached a ribbon to each name tag, which by the way was not too easy, because I cut and baked and covered the cookies with fondant without having made a little hole for the ribbon. Yeah…please think ahead next time… 🙂

Image

 

Anyway, since these cookies are good quality, and having the fondant glued from the previous evening, they have softened just right to be able to pierce a little hole in the corner. Also, I was super careful and slow doing it, but I succeeded and none of them broke!

Image

 

We will share these with the family, we spend Christmas in Hungary, I hope the cookies will make it on the long journey 🙂
Image

Here is the recipe for you, I just copy/paste it…
White Chocolate Sugar Cookies

    2 ¼ cup all purpose flour
    1 tsp. baking powder
    ¼ tsp. salt
    ½ cup butter, softened
    1/3 cup sugar
    1 egg
    1 tsp. vanilla extract
    6 oz. white chocolate

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In small saucepan over low heat, melt the white chocolate and set aside. In small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt (so they’re well combined) and set aside.In large mixer bowl beat butter and sugar until creamy. Blend in egg and vanilla extract. Beat in melted white chocolate. Gradually beat in flour mixture until soft dough forms. Shape dough in ball; flatten to 3/4″ thickness. Wrap in plastic wrap; refrigerate 15 minutes* until firm.On lightly floured surface, roll out dough to desired thickness. Bake until edges are golden. Let stand 2 minutes. Remove from cookie sheets and cool completely.*Note: You MUST be able to roll and cut the dough after the 15 minute refrigeration time, or it will set up too much and won’t roll out well. This dough is a dream to work with. You’ll love it.

Image

 

 

Leave a comment