Jawsome Shark Cake… for my shark obsessed boy

dsc_8072

 

So, I’ve got this 6 year old funny little guy in the house who has developed a huge shark obsession during the spring and summer this year, and apparently this isn’t over yet, not even close! I must admit that I quiet like it, too 🙂 I bought him several picture books and educational books from Usborne and National Geographic (which he really loves, by the way), we went to watch the big sharks at a big aquarium in Italy, and I even bought myself a pair of shark earrings for the summer to show my ultimate support. I haven’t introduced him to the movie Jaws though….not there yet!

His favourite species are the Great White and the Hammerhead Shark for some reason, and by now he knows lots of types of sharks, what’s more his 3 year old sister learned them from him as well.

I made him a special potato print Shark T-shirt before the summer (and before his haircut 🙂 ), and I must say I was very pleased how it turned out. He loves it too!

 

 

So, we’re all into sharks these days, and having a shark theme cake for his birthday in August in Italy made by the local bakery was not enough. Just not enough, and he made me promise that I’ll make him one too. Of course!

 

dsc_8078

 

 

dsc_8077

Here we are few months later, and here is the little Shark Cake. I tried to make a sugarpaste shark topping, which looks quite funny without any teeth! Must be a very old (and fat!) shark, even though apparently sharks don’t loose their teeth, or if they do, they will grow it back at once, …so my son tells me….

 

dsc_8079

 

I did not bake the cake, I used ready baked cake sheets, which I bought in Hungary this summer. They are honey based, thin cake sheets, and I cut out small circles to make 6 layers.

 

dsc_8081

 

 

For frosting I made white chocolate ganache and tinted with blue food colour. It turned more like aqua blue because the white chocolate and cream were a bit yellowish, but then I guess aqua is good, considering that sharks live in water/aqua after all.

 

 

Ps.While I wrote this post I was listening to the song “Baby Shark, do do do do….” because that’s what my son is watching on YouTube right now.
And every day.
Since spring or so…
And we all like it! 🙂

Leave a comment