White Chocolate Birthday Cake

DSC_9864
This was a white chocolate cake that I made for my daughter’s friend, Susie. She turned 10 and asked for a white chocolate cake. As it’s one of my favourite cakes, I was happy to do it, in fact I will make a white chocolate cake for my daughter’s birthday later this month, too.
DSC_9850
Ingredients
4 large eggs, separated
4 Tbsp flour
4 Tbsp white sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla bean paste
pinch of salt
For the filling
600 ml double cream
200 g white chocolate (I used Lindt white chocolate from Lindor -the best!)
Method
You need to prepare the filling cream one day ahead, but at least 6-8 hour before assembling the cake.
Warm the double cream in a pan and stir in the white chocolate until fully melted. Set aside to cool, then place it in the fridge for overnight.
In a large mixing bowl, beat the egg whites with the salt, then add the sugar and beat until you get a firm, shiny consistency. Add the vanilla and yolks one by one, beating a little after each addition. Now put down the mixer, and using a large plastic or wooden spoon, fold in the flour, but gently until it’s all combined.
Pour the batter in the baking pan. I used four disposable, paper baking cases, and divided the batter evenly. This way I got four even cake sheets and I didn’t need to cut afterward.
When the cake has cooled, I beat the white chocolate cream and filled the cake.
To decorate this cake, I made a little bunting from paper flowers and fabric.
DSC_9865
Leave a Reply

