Nostalgia – Time travelling to the past

dsc_7845

 

dsc_7854

 

I got a few vintage crochet lace mats and doilies from my mother which she got from my grandmother, which she got from my great grandmother, who made them…..yeah, we’re talking about old stuff here, very old! And beautiful πŸ™‚

 

dsc_7849

 

 

dsc_7840

When I saw them, I knew I have to use them as a background for a batch of shabby chick cupcakes. I’m not all into this vintage design, but sometimes it feels good and relaxing to go through old black & white family photos, remembering our dear relatives who were around when we were kids, and those who we never met but we were told countless stories about.

 

dsc_7848

 

 

dsc_7849

Here is my great grandmother, standing in a white dress on the right of the framed photo. She died before I was born at the age of 82. She was 16 when she posed for this photograph….I never knew her, but I know she was the mother of my dear grandfather, and I LOVED her, and I treasure her photograph, which is in fact my absolute favourite of all the old family photos we have. The photo was taken in 1906, and every time I look at it, makes me wonder about that particular day….what was she thinking, how did she spent the rest of her day, how was she feeling, did she ever imagined that one day her photo will end up in her great granddaughter’s wall who she will never meet, but will think the world of her nonetheless….

 

dsc_7838

 

dsc_7846

 

No recipe here today guys. I only baked these for the sake of remembering and reflecting on the old times.

Very therapeutic πŸ™‚

 

dsc_7854

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

