Individual Mini Black Forest Cakes

DSC_7498

 

I have a book called “The best – ever book of cakes” written by Ann Nicol. It’s big, it’s lovely, and full with great recipes of all sorts, yet I only baked twice from it. First time 3 years ago, just one day before my due date with my youngest daughter, and now for the second time, when my little girl is almost 3. Both times the same recipe, the Black Forest Gateau. The only changes I made was that this time I made mini cakes instead of one large. More time consuming, but totally worth it. I have a post about my large cake from 3 years ago, but I wasn’t in the mood to copy down the recipe from the book back then (baby anxiety, I guess), but I’ll do it this time, because I really think that this recipe worth the trouble.

 

DSC_7513

 

Ingredients:
-75 g melted butter
-5 eggs
-175 g caster sugar
-50 g flour, sifted
-50 g unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted
Filling and topping:
-6 Tbsp Kirsch
-600 ml double cream
-425 g can black cherries, drained, pitted and chopped
Decoration:
-plain chocolate curls or shreds
-fresh cherries with stems
DSC_7514
Method:
Preheat the oven. Grease and line a large tray bake tin with baking paper. If you make a round cake then use two 20 cm/8in round deep cake tins.
Put the egg and sugar in a large bowl and beat with an electric mixer for about 10 minutes, or until the mixture is thick and pale and leaves a trail when the beaters are lifted.
Sift together the flour and cocoa powder, then sift again into the whisked mixture. Fold in gently using a metal spoon and a figure-of-eight motion.
Slowly pour in the cooled melted butter and fold in gently.
Pour the batter into the prepared tin, or tins, and smooth level. Bake for 30 minutes, until springy to the touch.
Leave in the tin for 5 minutes, then turn out on a wire rack to cool. Peel off the lining paper.
I used a 6 cm diameter cooking ring/cutter to cut out my mini cake layers. If you bake one large cake, then cut each round cake in half horizontally, so you’ll end up with four layers of cake. Sprinkle evenly with the Kirsch.
In a large bowl, whip the cream until it holds soft peaks. The original recipe tells you to mix the chopped, drained cherries into the whipped cream, but I just put the cherries first on the cake then I put the cream on top. And I did this on every little cake layer before I stacked them.
Finish off with a layer of whipped cream on the sides and on the top. Decorate with chocolate curls. My chocolate curls were not chocolate curls at all, I only made flakes using a vegetable peeler, and since the chocolate started to melt in my hands, they were not exactly what I had in mind, but maybe next time they will turn out better.
DSC_7518
DSC_7520
DSC_7512
2 thoughts on “Individual Mini Black Forest Cakes

Leave a Reply

