Lemon Ombre Heaven Cupcakes

DSC_6744

 

Yellow was never my favourite color, but something has changed along the way in the past few years and -even though it still isn’t my most favourite, but I started to like everything yellow.
It could be related to the weather…. I am craving the sunshine, the bright, hot summers, and since I don’t get enough of it ever since we moved to the UK, my mind must associate the yellow with sunshine, and funny, but I always find myself searching for it. I like to dress my girls in yellow dresses, my boy in yellow t-shirts, I have a cool pair of yellow sandals, which I can’t wait to put on again. Whenever we wear these things my spirit lifts me in a better mood. Yep, I am definitely a summer girl, and always will be!
DSC_6743
Back to food, for me lemons are also a symbol of summer and sunshine, maybe that’s why I always have some at home.
The other day I was grating fresh lemon zest into a recipe, and then I decided that my next baking has to be related to lemons. Also, it is the last day of the winter, so bring on the sunny spring!
DSC_6740
To make these Lemon Heaven cupcakes, I took my good old basic vanilla recipe and boosted with zesty lemons. Hm….they are exactly how I envisioned, but better.
DSC_6760
Ingredients:
1 cu brown sugar
125 gr butter, soft at room temperature
2 eggs, room temperature
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp Sicilian lemon extract
zest of 1 lemon, freshly grated
1 + 1/3 cup flour
2 tsp baking powder
salt
150 gr finest lemon yogurt
Butter cream:
250 gr butter, soft at room temperature
about 2 cups icing sugar (more or less, depending on your personal taste, also how stiff you want your butter cream)
2 tsp Sicilian lemon extract
Zingy Lemon cupcake filling from Dr.Oetker (from 1 tsp to 3 tsp, depending on how you like it)
yellow color paste
I also inserted from this lemon filling into the centre of my baked cupcakes, under the butter cream. It gives an amazing taste. You know what, I’m going over into the kitchen and grab one right now….hm, this cupcake is actually better the next day!
DSC_6742
Method:
Preheat your oven, and put the cupcake cases into the cupcake tin.
In a bowl mix the flour with the baking soda and salt. In another bowl beat the butter with the sugar, adding the eggs one at a time. Then add the vanilla and lemon extract, grate the lemon zest directly into your bowl, mix in the yogurt, finally add the flour and beat only until all combined. Divide evenly into the prepared cupcake tin, and bake for about 20-25 minutes. After baking, let them cool completely.
Beat the butter at high speed adding the icing sugar gradually, and make sure you don’t cover the whole kitchen in dust….man, I don’t like this part! The cleaning sugar dust, that is.
Add the lemon extract and yellow color paste, and mix in the preferred amount of zingy lemon filling. It gives a very nice taste. I promise.
I divided my butter cream in three parts, to make three different shades of yellow, well in fact only two, the third was left at its natural color. When piping on top of the cupcakes, I started with the darker shade.
DSC_6758
DSC_6759
While photographing the other cakes, I put these on hold to wait by my daughter’s toy baskets…
DSC_6724
DSC_6779
Leave a Reply

