Earl Grey Cupcakes With Honey Lemon Buttercream

DSC_6471

 

Cup of tea turned into a slice of cake. Hm…..

DSC_6484

Surfing the net for inspiration, I came across a black tea cake. The pictures, the writing got me instantly, and I knew I had to make it happen. The recipe was haunting me for few weeks until I finally decided to give it a try.

 

DSC_6464

I am not a tea drinker, hence my hesitation. Needles to say, my first thing in the morning is to brew a fresh cup of coffee while I warm the milk for the kids. So, I am a coffee lover, and not for the need of caffeine, because I drink decaff most of the time, but purely for the love of the coffee, the taste. I’m not a morning person either, but that first sip of a good coffee makes it all better.

DSC_6467

But, let’s turn back to the tea now. As I said, I saw this cake on the net, and caught my attention immediately. I do not keep black tea at home at the moment, all we have is a few green teas, and we always have peppermint tea, because that is what I like to drink if I don’t feel well. With honey and lemon, of course. Now, that’s the other thing. Whenever I do drink tea, for any reason, it must be served with honey and lemon. With all do respect for the country I live in, I could not drink the tea with milk. It’s a definite no, no from me. Sorry, guys. But, good thing we’re all different, right? Anyways, this cake here is for you, nice tea lover people! Enjoy! I know, I did!

 

DSC_6482

About the recipe. I had some problems with the original recipe, specially with the given measurements, mostly the quantity of sugar used. Eventually I did use as stated, but I was right to assume that this cake will be sweet. And I mean, too sweet, for me anyway. I never put so much sugar, and even though I added fresh lemon zest to this recipe, and lemon juice in the frosting, it was still too sweet for me. So, be aware if you decide to bake it, or use less sugar. I will probably bake it again, and I will adjust the sweetness more to my personal taste. Also, if you follow me, you know that I usually don’t frost my cakes with buttercream, so there comes even more sugar. In the future I will ice this cake with a different frosting, I’m thinking a lemon cream cheese would be perfect…..Nevertheless, this cake was delicious enough to evaporate within 1,5 days from the kitchen, and I had my more than fair share of it…..me, the nonteadrinker-and-toosweetforme….. Well…..

DSC_6452

The tea used in the original recipe was PG black tea, I choose Earl Grey, the Decaff version, so kids could also eat without problem. The smell of this tea is really nice, and as opposed to the PG, at least I know this tastes lovely, whilst the PG I never tried, so I can’t relate to that.

DSC_6476

 

DSC_6477

 

I made a three layer mini cake in my 5 inch cake pans, and I had leftover batter for 5 cupcakes.
The recipe was using grams and millilitres, but also gave the quantities in cups, which was very confusing and I found it being inaccurate, probably because not all cups measure the same amount, so I choose to only look at the grams and millilitres.

 

Ingredients:

-235 ml milk

-content of 3 tea bags

-55 gr butter at room temperature

-220 gr brown sugar (wohoo….see, told you!)

-2 eggs

-1/4 cup vegetable oil

-1 tsp vanilla extract

-zest of 1 lemon

-175 gr flour

-1+1/2 tsp baking powder

-1/2 tsp baking soda

-1/2 tsp salt

Honey-lemon buttercream:

-125 gr butter at room temperature

-3 Tbsp honey

-250 gr powder sugar (oh, boy, have mercy!)

-fresh lemon juice (depending on personal taste, but be careful, because adding too much liquid will result in needing more sugar to keep the buttercream in good consistency)

-pinch of salt

 

Method:

1. Preheat the oven, then grease the cake pans. If you only make cupcakes, put the cupcake cases in the cupcake pan, you will have about 15 cupcakes, depending of the size.

2. Warm the milk until almost boiling, and add the tea. Cut the bags open and stir the tea powder directly into the milk. Let it cool down.

3. In a bowl beat together the butter and the sugar. (It will not get light and fluffy because not enough butter and too much sugar, but when adding the eggs, the batter will get better.)

4. Add the egg, one at a time, and beating after each addition. Beat in the oil and vanilla, too.

5. Stir in the flour mix (flour+salt+baking powder+baking soda).

6. Pour the milk and stir only until all is perfectly combined, but don’t over mix.

7. Transfer the batter in the prepared pan and bake for about 30 minutes. After baking, let the cakes cool before icing.

8. Beat the butter and honey until smooth and creamy, add the salt and start adding gradually the powder sugar and lemon juice. Keep on like this until you are satisfied with the taste and consistency.

DSC_6474

 

DSC_6461

 

DSC_6463

 

DSC_6483

 

DSC_6458

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

