Butterfly Birthday Cake

Image

In my last post I talked about my daughter’s 6th birthday and posted lots of photos about the birthday table, including her Birthday Cake. Yet, I come back now with her Birthday Cake because I just feel that it deserves to have an individual post on its own. I just loved it THAT much šŸ™‚

Image

I made a simple sponge following my Hungarian recipe which is perfect for this type of cakes and it’s as easy as can be.
Ingredients:
-5 large eggs
-5 tablespoon of flour
-5 tablespoon of sugar
-pinch of saltĀ 

Whip the egg whites with the sugar on high speed of your electric mixer until stiff, then add the egg yolks one at a time on the lowest speed. Finally add the flour, gently folding in with a spoon or a spatula. Pour the cake mixture in your cake tin and bake it at about 200 C for about 1 hour. Let it cool completely before cutting the layers.

Image

To fill this cake I made a white chocolateĀ ganacheĀ cream. This you can make it by melting the white chocolate into warm double cream. I used 600 ml double cream and 300 gr of white chocolate. When it cooled down completely I put it in the fridge overnight before whipping it and filling the cake. So this step must be done at least 1 day prior to decorating and eating the cake.

Image

After I filled my cake, I covered it with a thin layer of theĀ ganacheĀ cream, then I put a layer of rolled marzipan. If you have time you can put the cake at this stage in the fridge for a while to set. I didn’t had time for this, so I applied the final layer which was the white fondant. Then I started working on the grass stripes. Now that was the most time consuming with this cake (well, If I don’t count working on the big rose and the Australian lace butterflies, but I’ve made them in advance the previous days), because I cut and glued each stripe of grass individually.

Image

Image

When making the rose I used more shades of pink fondant. Started with the biggest petals made from the lightest pink, and went towards the middle of the flower using gradually darker pinks. To be honest with you this was my second rose, the first one didn’t survived….. I truly believe it’s got to do with the quality of the fondant. I think to make such a flower I would’ve need a special fondant called sugar flower gum paste or something, which I don’t have! So I am very happy that I could make it anyway from my regular sugar paste fondant.

After I put the rose on the cake I sprinkled a little pink edible glitter on it, and that was it.

Image

 

Ok, I honestly don’t understand why my ingredients are not showing…..so there it is once again:

 

-5 large eggs

-5 tablespoon of flour

-5 tablespoon of sugar

-pinch of salt

Leave a Reply

