Szonja’s 6th Birthday: Butterflies and Pink Roses…

Image

I am ever so happy to post my big girl’s Birthday table, she turned 6 on 30 of April. We celebrated on 4th of May, small party but with lot of style 🙂

Image

I made everything and enjoyed it so much! She asked for Butterfly theme this year, so that’s exactly what she got. I found it easy to fulfill her wish because there are so many bits and bobs you can add to a table to make it pretty, girlie, flowery and of course PINK. I chose light green to compliment the pink, so the main colour of the table was pink and green and lots of different size butterflies and roses.

Since my unborn baby keeps me awake most of the nights with all the wriggling and tummy kicking I had plenty of time to plan and to make all the decorations and the food.

There were cake pops, macaroons, cupcakes, decorated biscuits, sandwiches, nachos with salsa dip, crisps, fruits, vegetables, and of course the Birthday Cake. For drink I served apple juice and non alcoholic strawberry champagne for the kids, non alcoholic beer for me since I’m pregnant, and cocktails for our adult friends.

The party was not so much of a party really, but more like a play-date for my daughter with her two best friends and her little brother, so they were only 4 kids, which was very relaxing for me especially that their Mums were invited too and I had the chance to have a nice, chatty afternoon accompanied with drinks and food.

Image

I made these pompoms from tissue paper and hanged them above the birthday table.

Image

Image

Bottom tier has marshmallows and brownies, in the middle I put little milk chocolates. I took the original Easter themed wrapping off and made new wraps from doilies and decorated them with green butterfly stickers.

On the upper tier I put my macaroons….Ahh, those macaroons! It was my first time ever to make macaroons and I honestly believe it was my last time, too. Too much disappointment with these. There were few that came out nice, and I used those, but there were far too many which were a disaster and had to throw it out.

Image.

Beautiful roses which I think were so beautiful because they were over a week old! Honestly. I used jam jars as vases and sliced up 4 small limes and put it in the water to add some green to the pink. Also I decorated the flowers with paper butterflies.

Image

Image

Cupcakes. These are plain vanilla cakes but I cored them and filled with raspberry sauce then frosted with white chocolate ganache cream. I put just a little of green colouring to the cream then topped with two different kind of fondant roses that I made previously.Image

These are simple digestive biscuits but sandwiched them together with Nutella and covered with fondant. I really loved making the personalized fondant decorations for these biscuits and my daughter was also delighted!

Image

Cake pops, lots of cake pops…. As usual I made them from left over cakes kept in the freezer. I made three kind of cake pops. Plain vanilla, then cake pops with chestnut puree and finally same with chestnut puree but with added rum for the adults. Image

I used salsa jars and decorated with doilies and foam roses to present some of the cake pops.

Image

Image

Image

These are ham and cheese sandwiches and of course I cut them with a butterfly shaped cookie cutter.Image

I don’t even remember what kind of jars are these (although I think it’s Sacla sauce…), but I was looking for something that can be used as a cup. Kids loved it and loved the straws with butterflies on them, too.

Image

Image

These mini jars originally kept salmon paste and I transformed them to put the little candles which ended on the cake eventually.Image

Plastic, disposable champagne glasses. They looked so pretty with the added decorations and we all loved to drink the pink, non alcoholic champagne from it 🙂Image

Image

And finally the birthday cake. I have to tell you this was my favourite of all. I am very proud of this. The flower on top was a nightmare to make, I had to throw out the first one, and then the second was ok, but I just learned that regular fondant or sugar paste it’s just not suitable to make a flower like this. Next time I will need flower gum paste or whatever it is called but I think that is something more specific for this purpose. Image

I made the butterflies from royal icing and used a piping technique called Australian lace.

The green grass took me ages to make, little piece by piece, but it worth the trouble.

Image

Image

It was a white chocolate cake filled with white chocolate ganache cream.Image

Image

My birthday girl and I 🙂

Image

Us…Image

Finally I show you the birthday invitation which I edited with Picassa. It looked like this before I finalized with the text message about the party.

Image

Leave a Reply

