Chocolate & Red Velvet Cake Pops

Image

I made these cake pops for my son’s 2nd birthday party -which was not a big party and not even held on his birthday but a good month later because of several reasons. So we had a small gathering with close friends only but it was really OK. We had cupcakes and a birthday cake too, which I’m going to post later over the weekend.

Image

Two different cakes I used to make the balls, chocolate cake and red velvet. To be fair I didn’t’ bake them now for this occasion, they where left over cupcakes from previous baking which I packed away and put it in the freezer. You can keep them like this for several weeks and it’s just perfect to use it quickly to make some delicious cake pops like I did.

ImageI used Wilton Candy Melts, a pack of red and a pack of yellow, but I must say I was disappointed a little. I found the melted candy chocolate too thick and couldn’t work with it as easily as previously with simple melted chocolate so I’m not sure I will ever use it again…The coating is not smoothly round on some of the cake balls and that’s because it was so thick that I had to use a knife to scrap the chocolate off! It gives an an-usual look, although looks kinda pretty I say, but it’s definitely NOT what I had in mind.

The final result was OK though 🙂

Image

Leave a Reply

