Cherry and Chocolate

Image

I bought a pack of really nice, juicy black cherries and I thought that I will combine it with chocolate.

Didn’t want to bake my old chocolate cake recipe for this, I was searching the net for something simpler and more important for a recipe that has a smooth texture rather than full of chocolate bits. That’s how I came across with a really old recipe, apparently. No eggs and no butter is needed for this chocolate cake, but vinegar and oil instead. Well I did use butter for the topping but that can be replaced with other frosting if you really don’t want to use any butter.

I baked it, and as it was promised it was actually very moist and delicious.

I let the cakes cool completely (well as I baked in the evening, I went to sleep and only finished it next day), then filled them with cherry-pie filling (I made sure to put 2 cherries in every hole).

Image

To frost these cupcakes I made a pale pink buttercream, which was a hit with my daughter, rest of the family would more likely prefer a chocolate cream or cream cheese instead.

By the way I’ve been meaning to compare the calories between a buttercream and a chocolate cream just to see if I’m right when thinking that a chocolate cream frosting is a lighter (healthyer, if you like) choice compared to buttercream. Chocolate cream is basically whipped cream and melted chocolate, no added sugar, -of course you can play with a heavy/double cream or single whipped cream which do make a difference. Buttercream is the good old French butter + lots or powder sugar, which I believe has more calories altogether. But maybe I’m wrong 🙂

Image

Back to my cakes, I finished my dessert with adding chocolate dipped cherries and chocolate leaves. My intention was to put twin cherries on each cupcake, but could only find 2 pairs like this. Szonja ended up eating lots of cherries that day, because she volunteered to help dipping and finally she eat them all -the ones she made 🙂

Image

Here comes the chocolate cake recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup granulated sugar (brown sugar works for me)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup brewed coffee (or 1 cup of warm water mixed with 1 1/2 teaspoons of espresso powder or instant coffee granules- I used decaf instant coffee)
  • 1 Tbsp white vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 6 Tbsp oil

_______________________________

1 Preheat oven to 350°F with a rack in the middle position. Prepare a muffin tin with cupcake liners.

2 In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, sugar, baking soda, and salt until there are no visible clumps (cocoa tends to clump up).

3 In a separate bowl, mix together the coffee (or water plus coffee granules), vinegar, vanilla extract, and oil.

4 Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir only until they just come together. The mixture should be thin and rather lumpy.

5 Devide the batter into the cupcake liners, filling them about two-thirds of the way full. Place in oven and bake for 18 to 20 minutes, until a skewer inserted in the center comes out clean.

6 Remove from oven and let cool in the pan for 5 minutes, then remove from pan and let cool on a rack. Once cool, you use a cake corer (or a knife) to hollow out the center of each cupcake.

7 Fill the holes with cherry-pie filling, then frost them with the buttercream.

8 I tinted my buttercream with a little cherry-pie filling that’s how it came out pale pink.

9 Melt some dark chocolate (can be done in the microwave) and let it cool just a little before you dip the cherries in it. Put the cherries to dry on a piece of baking paper.

10 The chocolate leaves I made from moulded chocolate and I used the largest rose leaf cutter.

Leave a Reply

