Cats. Pink. Strawberries.

These are the top 3 favourites for Szonja 🙂 She nagged me to bake some cupcakes together and when I asked her what should be the theme, the flavour and colour she came up instantly and very excited with cats, pink and strawberries. Of course, what else! 🙂
Image
So, I looked up for a simple recipe for strawberry cupcakes and got started.
Image
Image
Image
Image
I had a package of strawberry flavoured chocolate buttons, so I melted it with a little cream (I think this is called ganache) then poured evenly on the cupcakes and let them cool down.
Image
Few weeks ago I bought silicone stamps with various cats on them from the Hobby Craft (I used them first on Szonja’s birthday cake), and now we used them on sugar-paste to imprint the little cats.
Image
Image
I let Szonja do most of the work, which she enjoyed really much 🙂
Image
Image
Image
And here comes the recipe:
Strawberry cupcakes
1/3 cup butter, softened at room temperature
1/2 cup sugar (I usually use brown sugar unless I want the cake to have a lighter colour)
1 egg
1 cup self-raising flour
1/3 cup milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup fresh strawberries, chopped (I’m pretty sure we used more than that…)
Topping
100 gr pink, strawberry flavoured chocolate buttons
2 tablespoons double cream
pale pink sugar-paste for the cats
sugar sprinkles
Preheat the oven to 160 C (in my case I turn the gas on mark 7). Line your cupcake pan with the cases. In a bowl, use an electric mixer on high speed to cream the butter and sugar together until it’s light and fluffy. Add the egg and mix well.
Add the vanilla, flour and milk, and beat with the electric mixer until combined, but be careful DO NOT OVER-MIX, because it will become dry and sort of a bread… In the end add the strawberries and stir it through.
Use an ice cream scoop -if you have, and divide the mixture evenly in your cupcake cases, but fill them only 3/4.
Bake them for around 20 minutes, half way through you can turn your tray in the oven, but NEVER open the oven in the first 10 minutes of baking, this is important!
Take them out from the oven, but leave the cupcakes in the pan for about 5 minutes before you transfer them on a wire rack.
For the topping, put the chocolate in a deep pan to melt, add the double cream and stir until completely melted, then pour the chocolate on your cupcakes. When they have cooled you can put your decoration on top.
Of course you can frost these cupcakes with only whipped cream and fresh strawberries (that would be my choice 🙂 ), but since I made them with my daughter, who specifically wanted cats on them, well another time 🙂
Leave a Reply

